Enabling and Using Password Autofill

Password autofill integrates SamuraiSafe with the iOS password autofill mechanism. This allows easy login using SamuraiSafe credentials to websites using Safari, or with Apps that support autofill. Your encrypted password store remains within SamuraiSafe, and an unencrypted password is only passed to iOS after a request is accepted by you, and you are authenticated by SamuraiSafe. The use of this feature is optional.
To enable or disable Password Autofill for SamuraiSafe go to iOS Settings, Passwords & Accounts and select AutoFill Passwords. Select SamuraiSafe. Then select a SamuraiSafe iCloud safe you will be using for Autofill. Only iCloud safes are supported in Autofill. On successful selection, a confirmation dialog will appear:
It is recommended you also disable Keychain (or iCloud Keychain) from the AutoFill Passwords settings panel, otherwise you will be presented with usernames from both sources.
You use Autofill from the login panel of a website or app. iOS will offer a suggested username or list of usernames, depending on what is available for that website in your SamuraiSafe iCloud safe. You can either click the suggestion (somewhat obscured in this example), or click the key icon for futher options.
On clicking the key icon, you can see the options..
On clicking SamuraiSafe… you get a list of all password entries that contain username and passwords. Select the entry you wish to use by tapping on that entry. Or you can use Search to find an entry. You can also examine entry details by clicking the icon, but editing isn't possible here.
The quicktype bar is only populated with entries in your safe that contain a username, password and valid homepage. If you find the Autofill quicktype bar isn't offering you the correct username, ensure the homepage field is correct. Homepage may be set to either the bare website domain name eg. www.google.com, or a complete URL eg. https://www.google.com/login.
Finally, if you are unlucky you may get this screen:
The first line has some detail explaining what has gone wrong. If you have renamed your iCloud safe, moved it out of iCloud, disabled iCloud, or simply not completed the setup, you may see this message.
← Editing an Entry Customising Password Autofill →